Site menu:

Switch to German language

cNORM - Data Preparation

Content

  1. Representativeness of the data base
  2. Determining the norm sample size
  3. Data preparation in R
  4. Ranking: Retrieving Percentiles and Norm Scores
  5. Computing powers and interactions
  6. In a single step



Representativeness of the data base

The starting point for standardization should always be a representative sample. Establishing representativeness is one of the most difficult tasks of test construction and must therefore be carried out with appropriate care. First of all, it is important to identify those variables that systematically covary with the variable to be measured. In the case of school performance and intelligence tests, these are, for example, the type of school, the federal state, the socio-economic background, etc. Caution: Increasing the sample size is only beneficial for the quality of the standardization if the covariates do not remain systematically distorted. For example, it would be useless or even counterproductive to increase the size of the sample if the sample was only collected from a single type of school or only in a single region.



Determining the norm sample size

The appropriate sample size cannot be quantified in a definitive way, but depends on how well the test (or scale) must differentiate in the extreme sections of the norm scale. In many countries, for example, it is common (although not always reasonable) to differentiate between IQ < 70 and IQ > 70 to diagnose developmental disabilities and to choose the appropriate school type or track. An IQ test used for school placement must therefore be able to identify a deviation of 2 SD or more from the population mean as reliably as possible. If, on the other hand, the diagnosis of a reading/spelling disorder is required, a deviation of 1.5 SD from the population mean is generally sufficient for the diagnosis according to DSM5. As a rule of thumb for determining the ideal sample size, it can be stated that the uncertainty of standardization increases particularly in those performance ranges which are rarely represented in the standardization sample. (This does not only apply to the nonparametric method presented here, but in principle also to all parametric standardization methods.) For example, in a representative random sample of N = 100, the probability that there is no single child with an IQ below 70 is about 10%. For a sample size of N = 200, this probability decreases to 1 %. Doubling the sample size thus notably improves the reliability of the normal score in ranges markedly deviating from the scale mean.



Data preparation in R

If a sufficiently large and representative sample has been established (missings should be excluded), then the data must first be imported. It is advisable to start with a simply structured data object of type data.frame, which only contains numeric variables without value labels. It is as well favorable to label the measured raw scores with the variable name "raw", as this is the default specification in cNORM. However, all variable names can also be defined individually, but must then be specified as function parameters. The explanatory variable in psychometric performance tests is usually age. We therefore refer to this variable as "age". In fact, however, the explanatory variable is not necessarily age. A training or schooling duration or other explanatory variables can also be included in the modeling. However, it must be an interval-scaled (or, as the case may be, dichotomous) variable. Finally, a grouping variable is required to divide the explanatory variable into smaller standardization groups (e.g. grades or age groups). The method is relatively robust against changes in the granularity of the group subdivision. For example, the result of the standardization only marginally depends on whether one chooses half-year or full-year gradations (see A. Lenhard, Lenhard, Suggate & Segerer, 2016). The more the variable to be measured covaries with the explanatory variable (e. g. a fast development over age in an intelligence test), the more groups should be formed beforehand to capture the trajectories adequately. By standard, we assign the variable name "group" to the grouping variable.

If, when using cNORM, you initially only have the continuous age variable available, you must recode it into a discrete grouping variable. The following code could be helpful (another possibility is the'rankBySlidingWindow' function described below):

# Creates a grouping variable for a fictitious age variable
# for children age 2 to 18. That way, the age variable is recoded
# into a discrete group variable, each group comprising a year.

data$group <- c(3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18)
  [findInterval(data$age, c(-Inf, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,
  13, 14, 15, 16, 17))]

Of course, it is also possible to use a data set for which standard scores already exist for individual age groups. A continuously distributed age variable is not necessary in this case. When using RStudio, data can easily be imported from other statistical environments using the import function:


For demostration purposes, cNORM includes a cleaned data set from a German test standardization (ELFE 1-6, W. Lenhard & Schneider, 2006, subtest sentence comprehension) that will be used for demonstrating the method. Another large (but unrepresentative) data set for demonstration purposes stems from the adaption of a vocabulary test to the German language (PPVT-4, A. Lenhard, Lenhard, Segerer & Suggate, 2015). For biometric modeling, it includes a large CDC dataset (N > 45,000) for growth curves from age 2 to 25 (weight, height, BMI; CDC, 2012) and for macro economical and sociological data the data on mortality and life expectancy at birth from 1960 to 2017 from the World Bank. You can retrieve information on the data by typing ?elfe, ?ppvt, ?CDC, ?life or ?mortality on the R console. To load the data sets, please use the following code:

# Loads the package cNorm

library(cNORM)

# Copies the data set "elfe" from the environment into the object 'normData'

normData <- elfe

# Or similarly for the "ppvt"

normData <- ppvt

# And finally the data for the Body Mass Index
# Please specify 'bmi' as the 'raw' variable in this case in later analyses

normData <- CDC

# Displays the first lines of the data

head(normData)

As you can see, there is no age variable in the data set "elfe", only a person ID, a raw score and a grouping variable. In this case, the grouping variable also serves as a continuous explanatory variable, since children were only examined at the very beginning and in the exact middle of the school year during the test standardization. For example, the value 2.0 means that the children were at the beginning of the second school year, the value 2.5 means that the children were examined in the middle of the second school year. Another possibility would have been to examine children throughout the entire school year. In this case, the duration of schooling would have to be entered as a continuous explanatory variable. To build the grouping variable, the first and second half of each school year could, for exampe, be aggregated into one group respectively.


In the "elfe" data set there are seven groups with 200 cases each, i.e. a total of 1400 cases. With the help of the psych package, descriptive data can be displayed in groups if desired (optional):

# Install psych package

install.packages("psych", dependencies = TRUE)

# Display descriptive results

library(psych)
describeBy(normData, group="group")



Ranking: Retrieving Percentiles and Norm Scores

The next step is to rank each person in each group using the rankByGroup function. The function returns percentiles and also performs a normal-rank transformation in which T-Scores (M = 50, SD = 10) are returned by default. In principle, our mathematical method also works without normal rank transformation, i.e., the method could theoretically also be carried out with the percentiles. This is useful, for example, if you want to enter a variable that deviates extremely from the normal distribution or follows a completely different distribution. For most psychological or physical scales, however, the distributions are still sufficiently similar to the normal distribution even with strong bottom and ceiling effects. In these cases, the normal-rank transformation usually increases the model fit and facilitates the further processing of the data. In addition to T-Scores, the standard scores can also be expressed as z- or IQ-Scores. You can also choose between different ranking methods (RankIt, Blom, van der Warden, Tukey, Levenbach, Filliben, Yu & Huang). However, we want to stick to T-Scores and RankIt, which are preset by default:

# Determine percentiles by group

normData <- rankByGroup(elfe, group = "group")

To change the ranking method, please specify a method index with method 1 = Blom (1958), 2 = Tukey (1949), 3 = Van der Warden (1952), 4 = Rankit (default), 5 = Levenbach (1953), 6 = Filliben (1975) and 7 = Yu & Huang (2001). The standard score can be specified as T-Score, IQ-Score, z-Score or by means of a double vector of M and SD, e.g. scale = c(10, 3) for Wechsler subtest scaled scores. The grouping variable can be deactivated by setting group = FALSE. The normal-rank transformation is then applied to the entire sample.

Please note that there is another function for determining the rank, which works without discrete grouping variables. The rank of each individual subject is then estimated based on the continuous explanatory variables using a sliding window. The width of this window can be specified individually. In the case of a continuous age variable, the specification width = 0.5 means, for example, that the width of the window is half a year. As a consequence, the rank of a test persons is based on all participants who are no more than 3 months younger or older than the test person in question, i. e., the group comprises a total of 6 months.

# Estimation of normal scores via a sliding windows of the width 0.5

normData2 <- rankBySlidingWindow(data = elfe, age = "group", raw = "raw",
  width = 0.5)

The rankBySlidingWindow offers functionality to automatically build a grouping variable and determine the group means:

# Estimation of normal scores via a sliding windows of the width 1
# A grouping variable is automatically determined with 14 distinct groups.
# The mean age is assigned automatically for each group

ppvt.data <- rankBySlidingWindow(ppvt, age = "age", width = 1, nGroup = 14)

Please note that the 'rankBySlidingWindow' function only makes sense if the age variable is actually continuous. In the 'elfe' data set the variable 'group' serves as continuous explanatory variable as well as diskrete grouping variable. Therefore, with the function 'rankBySlidingWindow' we obtain the same standard scores as with the function 'rankByGroup' in this specific case.

Both ranking functions ('rankBySlidingWindow' and'rankByGroup') add at least two additional columns, namely 'percentile' and 'normValue'. In addition, descriptive information about each group is added, namely n, m, md and sd.




Descriptive results are only necessary under certain circumstances. The creation of these variables can be deactivated via the parameter 'descriptives'.



Computing powers and interactions

At this point, where many test developers already stop standardization, the actual modeling process begins. A function is determined which expresses the raw score as a function of the latent person parameter l and the explanatory variable. In the following, we will refer to the latter variable as 'a'. In the 'elfe' example, we use the discrete variable ,group' for a. If there is an additional continuous age variable, it should be used instead as 'a' because of its higher precision.

To retrieve the mathematical model, all powers of the variables 'l' and 'a' up to a certain exponent k must be computed. Subsequently, all interactions between these powers must also be calculated by simple multiplication. As a rule of thumb, k > 5 leads to over-adjustment. In general, k = 4 or even k = 3 will already be sufficient to model human performance data with adequate precision. Please use the following function for the calculation:

# Calculation of powers and interactions up to k = 4

normData <- computePowers(normData, k = 4, norm = "normValue", age = "group")

The data set now has 24 new variables (k2 + 2*k), namely all powers of l (L1, L2, L3, L4), all powers of a (A1, A2, A3, A4 ) and all linear products of the power variables(L1A1, L1A2, L1A3, ... L4A3, L4A4).



In a single step

cNorm also includes the convenience method 'prepareData' which can be used to perform both the ranking and the subsequent calculation of powers in one step. Note that the variables 'group' and 'raw' have to be used in the data set for this purpose, if not specified otherwise.

# Combines the functions 'rankByGroup' and 'computePowers'

normData <- prepareData(normData)


# The variable names can be provided, if necessary
# In the example, the CDC dataset on BMI growth is used

data.bmi <- prepareData(CDC, group="group", raw="bmi", age="age")



Installation
Modeling

Site menu:

Sprache auf englisch umschalten

cNORM - Datenaufbereitung

Inhalt

  1. Repräsentativität der Datenbasis
  2. Wahl der Stichprobengröße
  3. Datenaufbereitung in R
  4. Ermittlung der Perzentile und Normwerte
  5. Berechnung von Potenzen und Interaktionen
  6. In einem Schritt



Repräsentativität der Datenbasis

Der Ausgangspunkt einer Normierung sollte immer eine repräsentative Stichprobe sein. Die Herstellung der Repräsentativität ist eine der schwierigsten Aufgaben der Testkonstruktion und muss deshalb mit entsprechender Sorgfalt durchgeführt werden. Dabei ist es zunächst wichtig, diejenigen Variablen zu identifizieren, die systematisch mit der zu messenden Variable kovariieren. Bei Schulleistungs- und Intelligenztests sind dies in Deutschland beispielsweise die Schulform, das Bundesland, der sozioökonomische Hintergrund usw. Achtung: Die Vergrößerung einer Stichprobe nützt der Normierungssicherheit nur dann, wenn die genannten Variablen hierdurch nicht systematisch verzerrt bleiben oder verzerrt werden. So wäre es beispielsweise bei der Erhebung von Schulleistungstests nutzlos oder sogar kontraproduktiv, die Stichprobe weiter zu vergrößern, wenn die Stichprobe nur an einer einzigen Schulform oder nur in einem einzigen Bundesland erhoben wird.



Wahl der Stichprobengröße

Die Größe der notwendigen Stichprobe kann nicht allgemein verbindlich beziffert werden, sondern richtet sich danach, wie gut der Test (bzw. die Skala) in den Extrembereichen differenzieren muss. In Deutschland ist es beispielsweise üblich (wenn auch längst nicht immer sinnvoll), bei der Auswahl der geeigneten Schulform zwischen IQ < 70 (Förderschwerpunkt geistige Entwicklung) und IQ > 70 (Förderschwerpunkt Lernen) zu differenzieren. Ein IQ-Test, der für die Schulplatzierung eingesetzt wird, muss also in der Lage sein, eine Abweichung von 2 SD vom Mittelwert noch möglichst präzise abzubilden. Geht es hingegen um die Diagnose einer Lese-Rechtschreibstörung, dann reicht im Allgemeinen bereits eine Abweichung von 1,5 SD vom Populationsmittelwert für die Diagnose aus. Als Daumenregel für die Ermittlung der idealen Stichprobengröße lässt sich festhalten, dass die Normierungsunsicherheit vor allem in denjenigen Leistungsbereichen zunimmt, die nur noch mit geringer Wahrscheinlichkeit in der Normierungsstichprobe vertreten sind. (Dies gilt übrigens nicht nur für das hier vorgestellte nonparametrische Verfahren, sondern im Prinzip auch für alle parametrischen Normierungsverfahren.) So beträgt beispielsweise die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass in einer repräsentativen Zufallsstichprobe von N = 100 kein einziges Kind einen IQ unter 70 aufweist, etwa 10%. Bei einer Stichprobengröße von N = 200 sinkt diese Wahrscheinlichkeit auf 1 %. Die Verdopplung der Stichprobengröße trägt in diesem Bereich also stark zur Erhöhung der Normierungssicherheit bei.



Datenaufbereitung in R

Wenn eine repräsentative Stichprobe in ausreichender Größe hergestellt wurde (Missings sollten ausgeschlossen werden), dann müssen die Daten zunächst eingelesen werden. Es ist sinnvoll, zunächst mit einem einfach strukturierten Datensatz vom Typ data.frame zu beginnen, der nur numerische Variablen ohne Wertelabels enthält. Es ist günstig, die gemessenen Testrohwerte mit dem Variablennamen "raw" zu bezeichnen, da dies die voreingestellte Bezeichnung in cNORM ist. Alle Variablennamen können jedoch auch individuell gewählt werden, müssen dann aber als Funktionsparameter angegeben werden. Die explanatorische Variable ist bei psychometrischen Leistungstests in der Regel das Alter. Diese Variable wird bei uns deshalb mit "age" bezeichnet. Tatsächlich muss aber dahinter nicht unbedingt eine Altersvariable stecken. Auch die Beschulungsdauer oder andere explanatorische Variablen können in die Modellierung einfließen. Es muss sich dabei aber um eine intervallskalierte (oder ggf. dichotome) Variable handeln. Als Letztes wird noch eine Gruppierungsvariable benötigt, um die explanatorische Variable in kleinere Normierungsgruppen zu unterteilen (z. B. Klassenstufen oder Altersgruppen). Das Verfahren ist relativ robust gegenüber Veränderungen in der "Feinheit" der Gruppenunterteilung. So hängt das Ergebnis der Normierung beispielsweise kaum davon ab, ob man Halbjahres- oder Ganzjahresabstufungen wählt (siehe A. Lenhard, Lenhard, Suggate & Segerer, 2016). Je stärker die zu messende Variable mit der explanatorischen Variable kovariiert, desto mehr Gruppen müssen zuvor gebildet werden. Die Gruppierungsvariable wird bei uns mit dem Variablennamen "group" bezeichnet.

Falls Sie bei der Verwendung von cNORM zunächst nur die kontinuierliche Altersvariable zur Verfügung haben, muss die Gruppierungsvariable daraus erst erstellt werden. Der folgende Code könnte hierbei hilfreich sein (eine andere Möglichkeit besteht in der weiter unten beschriebenen Funktion 'rankBySlidingWindow'):

# Generiert eine Gruppierungsvariable aus einer fiktiven Altersvariable
# für Kinder zwischen 2 und 18 Jahren. Die Variable Alter wird hierdurch
# in eine diskrete Gruppenvariable umkodiert, die pro Stufe einen Jahrgang
# umfasst.

data$group <- c(3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18)
  [findInterval(data$age, c(-Inf, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,
  13, 14, 15, 16, 17))]

Es ist natürlich auch möglich, einen Datensatz zu verwenden, bei dem bereits Normwerte für einzelne Altersgruppen existieren. Eine kontinuierlich verteilte Altersvariable ist in diesem Fall nicht notwendig. Bei Verwendung von RStudio lassen sich Daten bequem über die Import-Funktion aus anderen Statistik-Umgebungen einlesen:


Für Demonstrationszwecke enthält cNORM bereits einen bereinigten Datensatz, welcher einem ehemaligen Normierungsprojekt entstammt (ELFE 1-6, W. Lenhard & Schneider, 2006, Untertest Satzverständnis) und den wir in der Folge zur Demonstration des Packages verwenden.

Ein weiterer großer (aber nicht repräsentativer) Datensatz, den wir hier zur Demonstration verwenden, basiert auf einem ins Deutsche adaptierten Wortschatztest (PPVT-4, A. Lenhard, Lenhard, Segerer & Suggate, 2015). Als weitere Datensätze für physiologische bzw. biometrische Daten enthält cNORM einen großen Datensatz des CDC mit Wachstumskurven von 2 bis 25 (Körpergröße, Gewicht und BMI) von über 45.000 Kindern und Jugendlichen aus den USA (CDC, 2012) und Daten der Weltbank zur weltweiten Entwicklung der Mortalität und Lebenserwartung Neugeborener. Informationen über die zwei Datensätze erhalten Sie, indem Sie ?elfe, ?ppvt, ?CDC, ?life oder ?mortality eingeben. Um die Datensätze zu laden, gehen Sie bitte wie folgt vor:

# Lädt das Package cNorm

library(cNORM)

# Kopiert den Datensatz "elfe" aus der globalen Umgebung in das Objekt 'normData'

normData <- elfe

# Oder verfahren Sie analog mit "ppvt"

normData <- ppvt

# Und schließlich die Daten zum Body Mass Index
# In der Folge muss in diesem Fall als 'raw'-Variable bei den weiteren Analyse 'bmi'
# angegeben werden

normData <- CDC

# Zeigt die ersten Reihen des Datensatzes

head(normData)

Wie man sieht, existiert im Datensatz "elfe" gar keine Altersvariable, sondern nur eine Personen-ID, ein Rohwert und eine Gruppierungsvariable. Die Gruppierungsvariable dient in diesem Fall gleichzeitig als kontinuierliche explanatorische Variable, da bei der Testnormierung Kinder nur ganz zu Beginn und in der Mitte des Schuljahres untersucht wurden. Der Wert 2.0 bedeutet beispielsweise, dass sich die Kinder zu Beginn des 2. Schuljahres befanden, der Wert 2.5 heißt, dass die Kinder in der Mitte des 2. Schuljahres untersucht wurden. Man könnte bei der Durchführung einer Normierung aber beispielsweise auch Kinder gleichmäßig über das ganze Schuljahr hinweg untersuchen. Die Beschulungsdauer ginge dann als explanatorische Variable ein, in der Gruppierungsvariable könnte jeweils die erste und die zweite Hälfte jedes Schuljahres zu einer Gruppe zusammengefasst werden.


Im "elfe"-Datensatz gibt es sieben Gruppen mit jeweils 200 Fällen, ingesamt also 1400 Fälle. Mithilfe des psych-Packages lassen sich deskriptive Daten, falls dies gewünscht wird, gruppenweise darstellen:

# Package installieren

install.packages("psych", dependencies = TRUE)

# Deskriptive Ergebnisse ausgeben

library(psych)
describeBy(normData, group="group")



Ermittlung der Perzentile und Normwerte

Der nächste Schritt besteht darin, in jeder Gruppe über die rankByGroup-Funktion einen Rangplatz für jede Person zu ermitteln. Die Funktion gibt Perzentile zurück und führt darüber hinaus eine Normalrangtransformation durch, bei der standardmäßig T-Werte (M = 50, SD = 10) zurückgeliefert werden. Grundsätzlich kommt unsere mathematische Methode auch ohne Normalrangtransformation aus, d. h. das Verfahren könnte theoretisch auch mit den Perzentilen durchgeführt werden. Dies bietet sich beispielsweise dann an, wenn man eine Größe erfassen möchte, die extrem von der Normalverteilung abweicht bzw. einer ganz anderen Verteilung folgt. Für die meisten psychischen oder physischen Skalen gilt allerdings, dass die Verteilungen selbst bei starken Boden- und Deckeneffekten noch genug Ähnlichkeit mit der Normalverteilung aufweisen. In diesen Fällen erhöht die Normalrangtransformation i. d. R. die Modellpassung und erleichtert die Weiterverrechnung der Daten. Außer als T-Werte können die Normwert auch als z- oder IQ-Werte zurückgegeben werden. Außerdem kann zwischen verschiedenen Ranking-Verfahren gewählt werden (RankIt, Blom, van der Warden, Tukey, Levenbach, Filliben, Yu & Huang). Wir wollen aber zunächst bei T-Werten und RankIt bleiben, die standardmäßig voreingestellt sind:

# Ermittlung der Perzentile getrennt nach Gruppen

normData <- rankByGroup(elfe, group = "group")

Um die Ranking-Methode zu ändern, muss die Methode mit method = x spezifiziert werden (x = Methodenindex; siehe Funktionshilfe). Der Normwert kann als T-Wert, IQ-Wert, z-Wert oder mithilfe eines Doppelvektors aus M und SD spezifiziert werden, z. B. scale = c(10, 3) für Wertpunkt-Skalen. Die Gruppierungsvariable kann deaktiviert werden, indem group = FALSE gesetzt wird. Die Normalrangtransformation wird dann auf die gesamte Stichprobe angewendet.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass es noch eine weitere Funktion zur Ermittlung des Rangplatzes gibt, welche ohne diskrete Gruppierungsvariable funktioniert. Der Rang jeder einzelnen Testperson wird dann auf Basis der kontinuierlichen explanatorischen Variablen mit Hilfe eines gleitenden Fensters geschätzt. Die Breite dieses Fensters lässt sich individuell spezifizieren. Bei einer kontinuierlichen Altersvariablen bedeutet die Spezifikation width = 0.5 beispielsweise, dass zur Bestimmung des Ranges alle Testpersonen herangezogen werden, die höchstens 3 Monate jünger oder älter sind als die betreffende Testperson. Die Breite des Fensters beträgt dann also insgesamt ein halbes Jahr.

# Schätzung der Normdaten mittels eines 'Sliding Windows' der Breite 'width'

normData2 <- rankBySlidingWindow(data = elfe, age = "group", raw = "raw",
  width = 0.5)

Allerdings ist die Verwendung der Funktion 'rankBySlidingWindow' nur dann sinnvoll, wenn die Altersvariable tatsächlich kontinuierlich ist. Im ,elfe'-Datensatz dient die Variable 'group' hingegen sowohl als kontinuierliche explanatorische Variable als auch als diskrete Gruppierungsvariable. Wir erhalten hier deshalb mit der Funktion 'rankBySlidingWindow' die gleichen Normwerte wie mit der Funktion ,rankByGroup'.

Bei beiden Ranking-Funktion ('rankBySlidingWindow' und 'rankByGroup') enthält der Datensatz nach Schätzung der Normwerte zwei zusätzliche Spalten, nämlich ,percentile' und ,normValue'. Zudem werden jedem Fall deskriptive Angaben zur jeweiligen Gruppe hinzugefügt, nämlich n, m, md und sd.




Die deskriptiven Ergebnisse sind nur unter bestimmten Umständen notwendig. Die Erstellung dieser Variablen kann über den Parameter 'descriptives' deaktiviert werden.



Berechnung von Potenzen und Interaktionen

An dieser Stelle, an der viele Testentwickler mit der Normierung bereits aufhören, beginnt der eigentliche Modellierungsprozess. Hierbei wird eine Funktion ermittelt, die den Rohwert in Abhängigkeit vom latenten Personenparameter l und von der explanatorischen Variable darstellt. Letztere bezeichnen wir im Folgenden mit a. Im ,elfe'-Beispiel verwenden wir für a die diskrete Variable ,group'. Falls eine kontinuierliche Altersvariable vorliegt, sollte diese wegen der höheren Präzision als explanatorische Variable a verwendet werden.

Zur Umsetzung des mathematischen Modells müssen alle Potenzen der Variablen l und a bis zu einem bestimmten Exponenten k gebildet werden. Anschließend müssen auch alle Interaktionen zwischen diesen Potenzen durch einfaches Ausmultiplizieren berechnet werden. Als Faustregel gilt, dass k > 5 zu Überanpassung führt. In der Regel wird aber bereits k = 4 oder sogar k = 3 ausreichen, um menschliche Leistungsdaten mit ausreichender Präzision zu modellieren. Bitte verwenden Sie für die Berechnung die folgende Funktion:

# Berechnung von Potenzen und Interaktionen bis zur vierten Potenz

normData <- computePowers(normData, k = 4, norm = "normValue", age = "group")

Der Datensatz hat jetzt 24 neue Variablen (k2 + 2*k), nämlich alle Potenzen von l (L1, L2, L3, L4), alle Potenzen von a (A1, A2, A3, A4 ) und alle Produkte aus den Potenzen (L1A1, L1A2, L1A3, ... L4A3, L4A4).



In einem Schritt

cNorm enthält außerdem auch eine bequeme Hilfsfunktion 'prepareData' mithilfe derer sowohl das Ranking als auch die anschließende Berechnung der Potenzen in einem Schritt durchgeführt werden können. Beachten Sie, dass hierfür die Variablen 'group' und 'raw' verwendet werden, sofern die Variablennamen nicht explizit angegeben werden.

# Verknüpft die Funktionen 'rankByGroup' und 'computePowers'

normData <- prepareData(normData)


# Variablennamen können ebenfalls angegeben werden
# Im Beispiel wird der CDC-Datensatz zur BMI-Entwicklung verwendet

data.bmi <- prepareData(CDC, group="group", raw="bmi", age="age")



Installation
Modellierung